Check IGNOU Admission related information on this blog

IGNOU Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.) Courses & Syllabus

IGNOU B.Sc. Syllabus, IGNOU B.Sc. Courses, IGNOU Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.) Courses & Syllabus:

The Indira Gandhi National Open University offers admission to Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.) programme in both January and July academic sessions. It is a three year degree programme which includes the courses worth 96 credits Where each credit is equivalent to 30 study hours which consist of all the learning activities. Therefore, the students who are pursuing the IGNOU B.Sc. programme has to pass out all the courses (96 credits) within the maximum programme duration to make themselves eligible for this bachelor degree. You can also read about IGNOU B.Sc. Admission.

While pursuing the IGNOU B.Sc programme, the students has to choose the subjects in all three years from three different types of courses which has been mentioned below:

  • Foundation Courses (24 Credits)
  • Elective Courses (56 Credits or 64 Credits from Chemistry, Life Sciences, Mathematics and Physics) (The learner has to choose at least 25% of the total credits in Physics, Chemistry & Life Science which has to be chosen from Laboratory Courses)
  • Application Oriented Courses (8 or 16)

Apart from these courses, the students also need to study an awareness course on environment ‘An Introduction to the Environment’ (NEV1). But there will be no examination conducted for this programme.

The students can also check out the latest IGNOU Common Prospectus to know more about the IGNOU B.Sc. programme and the related course & syllabus. To obtain the Bachelor Degree in Science, the students has to earn 96 credits over a minimum period of 3 years and maximum period of 6 years. We have mentioned below the IGNOU B.Sc. Courses with details such as Course Code, Course Name and and Credits:

IGNOU B.Sc. Foundation Courses :

foundation courses of ignou programme

IGNOU B.Sc. Physics Elective Courses:

  • BPHE 101  Elementary Mechanics (2 Credits)
  • BPHE 102 Oscillations and Waves (2 Credits) (Both BPHE 101 & BPHE 102 has to be taken together)
  • BPHL 103 Physics Laboratory-I (4 Credits)
  • PHE-04 Mathematical Methods in Physics-I (2 Credits)
  • PHE-05 Mathematical Methods in Physics-II (2 Credits) (Both PHE 04 & PHE 05 has to be taken together)
  • PHE-06 Thermodynamics and Statistical Mechanics (4 Credits)
  • PHE-07 Electric and Magnetic Phenomena (4 Credits)
  • PHE-8L  Physics Laboratory-II (4 Credits)
  • PHE-09 Optics (4 Credits)
  • PHE-10 Electrical Circuits and Electronics (4 Credits)
  • PHE-11 Modern Physics (4 Credits)
  • PHE-12L  Physics Labroatory-III (4 Credits)
  • PHE-13 Physics of Solids (4 Credits)
  • PHE-14 Mathematical Methods in Physics-III (4 Credits)
  • PHE-15 Astronomy and Astrophysics (4 Credits)
  • PHE-16 Communication Physics (4 Credits)

IGNOU B.Sc. Chemistry Elective Courses:

  • CHE-01 Atoms and Molecules (2 Credits)
  • CHE-3L  Chemistry Laboratory-I (2 Credits) (Both CHE-01 & CHE-3L has to be taken together)
  • CHE-02 Inorganic Chemistry (4 Credits)
  • CHE-04 Physical Chemistry  (4 Credits)
  • CHE-05 Organic Chemistry  (4 Credits)
  • CHE-06 Organic Reaction Mechanism  (4 Credits)
  • CHE-7L  Chemistry Laboratory-II (2 Credits)
  • CHE 8L  Chemistry Laboratory-III (2 Credits) (Both CHE-7L & CHE-8L has to be taken together)
  • CHE-9 Biochemistry (4 Credits)
  • CHE-10 Spectroscopy (4 Credits)
  • CHE 11L  Chemistry Laboratory-IV (4 Credits)
  • CHE 12L  Chemistry Laboratory-V (4 Credits)
  • MTE-3  Mathematical Methods (4 Credits)

IGNOU B.Sc. Life Science Elective Courses:

  • LSE-01 Cell Biology (4 credits)
  • LSE-02 Ecology (4 credits)
  • LSE-03 Genetics (4 credits)
  • LSE 4L  Laboratory Course-I (4 credits)
  • LSE-05 Physiology (4 credits)
  • LSE-06 Developmental Biology (4 credits)
  • LSE-07 Taxonomy and Evolution (4 credits)
  • LSE 8L  Laboratory Course-II (4 credits)
  • LSE-9 Animal Diversity-I (6 credits)
  • LSE-10 Animal Diversity-II (6 credits)
  • LSE-11L Animal Diversity Laboratory (4 credits) (LSE-9, LSE-10 & LSE-11L has to be taken together)
  • LSE-12 Plant Diversity-I (6 credits)
  • LSE-13 Plant Diversity-II (6 credits)
  • LSE-14L  Plant Diversity Laboratory (4 credits) (LSE-12, LSE-13 & LSE-14L has to be taken together)

IGNOU B.Sc. Mathematics Elective Courses:

  • MTE-1 Calculus (4 Credits)
  • MTE-4 Elementary Algebra (2 Credits)
  • MTE-5 Analytical Geometry (2 Credits)
  • MTE-2 Linear Algebra (4 Credits)
  • MTE-6 Abstract Algebra (4 Credits)
  • MTE-7 Advanced Calculus (4 Credits)
  • MTE-8 Differential Equations (4 Credits)
  • MTE-9 Real Analysis (4 Credits)
  • MTE-10 Numerical Analysis (4 Credits)
  • MTE-11 Probability and Statistics (4 Credits)
  • MTE-12 Linear Programming (4 Credits)
  • MTE-13 Discrete Mathematics (4 Credits)
  • MTE-14 Mathematical Modelling (4 Credits)

IGNOU B.Sc. Appication Oriented Courses:

application oriented courses of ignou

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.


Disclaimer: Dear Visitors,the admission,results,hall tickets,date sheets,other notifications and other information provided on this website is only informational.So,Please verify the information provided here with respective official sources.we do not guarantee the relevance and accuracy of the content as it is collected from different sources.

Follow Us on: Facebook | Twitter | Google Plus